Register or

Feb 10
Sports & Recreation
BPL Opening Ceremony Rocked

The grand opening ceremony of the Bangladesh Premier League T20 tournament was held in Dhaka on Thursday.

President Zillur Rahman inaugurated the first edition of the competition at 6:30pm at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in the city’s Mirpur.

Bipasha Basu, Malaika Arora Khan, Rituparna Sengupta from India and Shamim Ara Nipa, Shibli Mohammad, Shakib Khan and Apu Bishwas from Bangladesh performed at the ceremony while singers Shaan, Bappi Lahiri also performed along with Ayub Bacchu, Kumar Biswajit, Mila and popular band Miles.

The tournament will start Friday with matches between Barisal Burners and Sylhet Royals and Chittagong Kings taking on Duronto Rajshahi.

The competition will start with a double round robin group stage, in which each of the 6 teams will play against every other team twice followed by two semi-finals and the final.

A total of 33 matches will be held during the tournament. Of those, 25 will be held in Dhaka while the eight in Zohur Ahmed Chowdhury stadium in Chittagong.

The final is slated on February 29 in Dhaka.


Comments Closed

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.